top of page

Reviews & Testimonials 

Testimonials from the charter years. Somewhere in there are a couple of instructional week-ends.

Claude was friendly, knowledgeable, and very easy to get along with! He took our family (3kids 10-15yrs old) and showed them the ropes, took as out beyond the coast, and made a fantastic day of it- Highly recommend! Only regret would be not going for a longer trip, I think several days, even up to a week to explore the coast and really get the hang of it!  Andrew P August 2019

Claude- thank you for having us! We enjoyed the day. Amanda. August 2019

Thank you for the day! We appreciate the hospitality!  Tom M.  August 2019

Thanks again! was a great day! Andrew. August 2019

Hi Claude, thank you for such a fantastic day of sailing. We all loved it, especially my mom! Your boat is gorgeous & we couldn’t have had a better day. Lindsey. July 2017

We’ve just arrived home - thank you for a lovely last weekend of summer - it was exactly what I dreamed it up to be! Amelia and Haley. Sept 2018

Just a note to let you know we had a great time voyaging to Cuttyhunk and Menemsha.  Our grand-daughters also had a fabulous time and send their thanks.  Naïma and Malindi are now back in Paris already. All the best, Dan P. August 2018

Thank you for a wonderful trip - we had a great time! It was very memorable and felt like we were a world away. We really enjoyed both the sailing and your company. Hope to get the chance to do it again! Kamna and Kevin, August 2018

Joseph | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

Claude is an kind and gracious host. Having never stayed on a boat before, he went out of his way to ensure my company and I had a extremely comfortable and pleasant stay. He’s one of those hosts you hope to come across in the AirBnB community and we expect to visit him sometime again soon. Jakari, August of 2018

Great time. Very responsive, loves sailing, respectful. Would recommend to anyone. Joseph J. July 31, 2018

Colleen & Marion | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

“We've been coming to the folk festival for six years, and this year thought we'd take a chance on a boat Airbnb. We'll never stay on land again! Claude was the consummate host, ferrying us around, providing everything we needed and more, while never being obtrusive. The boat was immaculately kept and very comfortable. You can't beat waking up to sunrise in the harbor and Claude's amazing breakfasts (and breakfast conversation! Fascinating tales of life at sea). 10/10 would recommend.” Colleen and Marion Jul 29, 2018

Dennis | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

Nothing could be better than being on a great boat on a perfect 4th of July night. Claude is very accommodating. He will help you come and go as you please. He is a very consciencious boat owner and will make you feel welcome on board. He also makes a delicious breakfast in the morning. This was much more fun than a hotel. Dennis D. July 5,2018

Lauren | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

My best friend and I did a girls wknd on the catamaran with Claude and had an absolute blast. He was an excellent host. Very responsive by email and text, and very helpful with planning to maximize our short time in Newport. Everything was very easy, parking while we weren't on the boat, along with food, drinks, etc when we were on the boat and everything was very clean. Easy to get to land as needed too. Highly recommend doing a trip with him. Lauren D. July 2, 2018

Vicki | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

I am so happy with how everything turned out! I visited Newport for the weekend to celebrate my birthday with a few friends and wanted to do something special. Right off the bat, Claude was very helpful and quick to respond when asking what to expect and if there was anything I needed to do on my end.

Although the weather was not the best, it did not take away from this amazing experience. The boat was extremely comfortable and Claude was a great captain! We will definitely be sailing again with him soon. Thank you!! Vicki M. June 23, 2018

Deborah | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

We stayed on Claude's boat while attending the Jazz fest. We had the best time relaxing on the boat in the evening , moored in the middle of the harbor, with beautiful views around us. Claude took us to and from the festival, taking us straight to the dock therefore avoiding parking, waiting in lines for the bus, etc. Claude was extremely friendly and gracious and provided for all our needs. His breakfast(s) were delicious and conversation friendly and knowledgeable. We had two adult couples on board and cabins were small yet comfortable (I assume typical for a boat). We even barbecued one night for dinner. A great time and very memorable. Would definitely do it again!!

 

Deborah P. August 5, 2017

Fred & June | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

We had the most amazing time with Captain Claude on a four day voyage throughout Block Island Sound, Vineyard Sound and Buzzard's Bay. Newport to Cuttyhunk to Edgartown to Hyannis to Woods Hole and back to Newport. The boat was extremely comfortable and the captain was amazing.

Highly recommended!!

 

Fred and June S. July 2017

Nancy & Tom | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

My husband and I recently sailed with Claude on his 46 ft. catamaran Cenou. 

 

We booked a four day trip/cruise and couldn't be happier, it exceeded all of our expectations.  You can book with Sail the Blue for a day or several days just to enjoy sailing and relaxing, visiting any number of harbors in the Newport, Block Island, and Cape Cod area, for an exciting and different vacation.

 

We booked with Claude in hopes of not only a cruising vacation, but to learn as much as we could about sailing a Cat. (We have experience only with monohulls but hope to eventually buy and live on a catamaran.)  Claude was not only willing to share his knowledge and expertise with us, his enthusiasm and love of saiing was inspiring.  He was extremely patient, and always ready to teach us a new skill both motoring and sailing.  We practiced navigations skills, picking up moorings, practiced anchoring, points of sail, trimming, tacking, gybing and the quirks of sailing a cat.  We used and learned all the important aids and instruments, radar, gps, wind and speed and depth instruments while taking turns at the helm, working the sails and the sheets.  He even took the time to get out the rigging he uses to climb the mast and show us how he uses it, as well as the workings of the water-maker.  It was perfect, just what we hoped... in fact, more than we hoped.

 

We also found staying on the catamaran incredibly relaxing, the days flew by, and we found ourselves cooking dinner later and later, as there was so much to do.  With most days filled with sailing, we still had time to just chill and visited several interesting anchorages, with lots going on for those who like to stretch their land legs.  We enjoyed sharing meals, barbequing, playing music, adult beverages, sharing stories and even an occasional nap.  One of our concerns was how compatible we would be with a "stranger", in a confined space, and if we would be comfortable.  Claude is as easygoing as they come, we felt like we'd know him for years, and never felt uncomfortable, with plenty of space to do our own thing.

 

Cenou is a beautiful catamaran with a gorgeous salon, great outdoor space and comfortable, private, cozy cabins.  Claude made delicious breakfasts, we shared snacks and lunch, and we enjoyed using the well stocked and spacious galley, lacking for nothing. Claude seems to like doing the dishes...and he'll eat anything, so no worries about your meal planning, haha.  The boat, by the way was kept spotless, no thanks to the guests.

 

The only downside to this experience was having to get off the boat...a sad day.  We would love to go back and do this again and plan on staying in touch.  If you are looking for a sailing vacation, learning to sail a catamaran, or just enjoying a catamaran cruise, look no further!

 

Thanks Claude for sharing your expertise, and for an incredible and unforgettable vacation!

 

Nancy and Tom O.  July 2017 

Katie | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

“I just wanted to thank you so much for the wonderful sail on Monday. We had such a fantastic time and really enjoyed the day. Your boat was absolutely perfect and we loved learning the basics of sailing. The spot we stopped for lunch was so relaxing and we enjoyed swimming and paddle boarding. We can’t wait to come back and sail again soon. Good luck with the season!” 

Best,

Katie C. July 3, 2017

Anja | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

“My husband and I and our teenage daughter stayed on this beautiful boat for 8 days, which just looks as in the pictures. One day through Airbnb and the rest of the days through his own website, because it's not allowed to sail by Airbnb unfortunately. We had THE perfect holiday. Claude is a wonderful host; makes super breakfasts, is a very skilled and careful sailor, knows every detail about Newport and it's surroundings and can tell beautiful stories. We will absolutely be back someday !!” Anja. August 2016

Brad | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

“Claude was an outstanding host. A friend and I were attending a wedding on Goat Island in Newport and Claude's catamaran provided a really unique and amazing way to take in the event. Claude is an easy guy to get comfortable with and was really helpful in making our arrival and tight turnaround easy. And a delicious breakfast as well. Highly recommend to all that are considering.” Brad, August 2016

Ryan | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

Claude and his boat were amazing. He was super accommodating and prompt with his responses on a very last minute booking. The perfect mix of glamorous and leisure for a relaxing afternoon! Will definitely be sailing with Claude again! 

Ryan, RI

August 2016

Richard | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

“Claude was an outstanding host. A friend and I were attending a wedding on Goat Island in Newport and Claude's catamaran provided a really unique and amazing way to take in the event. Claude is an easy guy to get comfortable with and was really helpful in making our arrival and tight turnaround easy. And a delicious breakfast as well. Highly recommend to all that are considering.” Brad, August 2016

Deaton | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

My friend and I enjoy experiencing music festivals. To attend the Newport Jazz Festival and stay on Sail the Blue, Claude’s boat, was exciting to us. We reserved our time on Sail the Blue boat a year in advance to be sure we could stay with him.  Over the months, Claude kept in touch with us offering recommendations about Newport and even offered to pick us up at the Providence airport.  We were very excited about meeting this exceptional host, sailing with him, and spending time on the boat.  Life is good.

 

Then two days before we were to arrive, another boat rammed into Claude’s boat while it was docked. He immediately called and let me know that the damage was extensive and we would not be safe staying on the boat.  Devastating for Claude and us, especially Claude.

Now you might think that would be the last we hear from Claude as we are no longer his guests and if so, you would be wrong. He kept in touch to advise me on finding another sailboat. He sent restaurant recommendations. He picked us up at the airport and took us to our new lodgings. He texted as he had additional thoughts on our time in Newport and to ensure all was going well with us. He even called on the last day there to provide another update and to ensure we had everything we need. This service is beyond five-stars. 

Claude’s support, recommendations, picking us up at the airport, continually staying in touch helped me turn what could have been a disaster into another fabulous music festival experience. We will definitely contact Claude again if we are in the Newport Area.  I hear the folk festival is fun. 

Claude is not only an exceptional host; I feel he is a new friend. My only regret on this trip is that we didn’t have the wonderful breakfasts cooked by Claude and served on the boat. Yum… Next time. Deaton, Austin, TX July 2016

Sail the Blue answer: Deaton was the first time a guest booked a year in advance and the red carpet was not going to be red enough as far as I was concerned. As I was dropping off guests to shore, a sailboat T-boned Cénou and did extensive damage in the process. I could not believe that this would happen two days before a very long planned charter was to take place. Deaton was more than gracious in understanding the situation. I really enjoyed meeting her and her friend Brigit for the short time they were in my car. Hopefully there will be a next time!

Richard | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

Two friends and I stayed on Sail the Blue’s catamaran for the Newport Folk Festival, and it was an amazing experience, in large part due to Claude being an incredible host. The boat was clean, well-organized and comfortable. Claude was very communicative and made the logistics of the trip easy. More importantly, he was a polite and friendly host while never being intrusive. Between the festival and downtown Newport, he made sure we were always where we needed to be, when we needed to be. Finally, he is an amazing chef. Breakfast and coffee every morning, and substantial snacks every evening after the festival. Truly a B&B on the water. I was nervous about staying on a boat for 3 nights. Yes, space was tight- it's a boat! But Claude's skills as a host (cleanliness and orderliness included) help offset the tight quarters. And being on the water instead of in a boring hotel room makes the decision an easy one for me. The next time I am in Newport, I will definitely look up Claude. 

Dustin. Orlando Fl

July 2015

Sail the Blue’s Catamaran was a hit. Stayed 2 nights while in Newport, it was fun and convenient. Claude is a very gracious and accommodating stay-in host and you don't even notice he's there. We even went sailing. An overall adventurous experience. Can't wait to go up there again. Theresa O. NY, NY June 2015

Kent & Lisa | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

“An excellent experience”

We signed on for a full week of sailing around New England with no particular idea of where we wanted to go and really had not much idea of what to expect.  We were blessed with the trip as Claude and his boat Cenou proved to be an amazing blend…much better than we could have hoped for.  

In a past life I was an ocean cruising and racing sailboater…  In the last decade career and family has changed my direction.  My wife has never really been sailing before and I have been reluctant to take her sailing as she suffers from motion sickness.  The catamaran was perfect as it was stable and very comfortable and safe feeling for her.  She fell right in love with sailing from the first day and now wants to make a cruise aboard Cenou part of our yearly ritual.  I am 6’4” and found the berths more comfortable than I had expected for a sailboat, but then I had much experience on monohulls in my past, so the catamaran seemed comfortable and sumptuous by comparison to my past sailing experiences.  

Leaving Newport he took us for fresh fish at Cuttyhunk, then to nice unspoiled and quiet beaches on Elizabeth island, then over for a more lively scene on Martha ’s Vineyard.   Then homeward again via Wood’s Hole and then back to Newport.  Every place we felt completely in good hands as Claude found safe anchorages and great scenery for us to enjoy.  As a skipper, Claude seems to have been born for the job, as he is an excellent host, both easy going and gracious, but also the most competent and careful captain…perfectly in tune with his boat after spending so much time sailing her all over the Atlantic and Med.  We felt like he took better care of us than anyone we could have hoped for.  The food was amazing and his conversations great.  Giving us plenty of space to ourselves if we wanted, or joining for good conversations over excellent wine and cheese. 

We are definitely coming back as soon as we can….

Cheers,

Sincerely, Kent & Lisa Morrow    August 2014

Paul & Nancy | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

To all people thinking about this Newport charter catamaran, I say, “Just do it!”

 

Last season (2014) we had a great time during a 3 day trip aboard Cenou. Claude Dussaud, the skipper was  congenial, patient with our questions, interesting to converse with and a very experienced catamaran sailor.

Sailing out of Newport along the Sakonnet River and out to Cuttyhunk (we enjoyed the raw bar and lobsters served there in the harbor) was such a wonderful New England experience. Being on such a comfortable, fast sailing boat made it really a lot of FUN!

If you have been wondering how it would be to experience staying onboard a sailing catamaran in beautiful New England we highly recommend S/V Cénou and skipper Claude.

 

Paul and Nancy Dias

Little Compton, RI

Hi Claude,

 

Thank you so much for today.  We really enjoyed ourselves, and thought you were Great!

 

If there is anything I can do to promote your business (other than word of mouth), please let me know.   Reference.., etc...

 

Melissa H. July 10, 2013

Michael | Sail the Blue | Private Sailboat Charters | Newport, RI

My wife and I sailed with Claude on a four-day, three-night trip in July 2013 in and around Newport, Cuttyhunk, New Bedford, and back to Newport. Our little adventure was a great experience in spite of some unusually foul weather for this time of year. Claude is the perfect captain and host, quietly and pleasantly obsessive about making sure his guests have a great experience. The food he made for each meal was fantastic, from the great coffee in the morning to the swordfish purchased right off the docks in Cuttyhunk, then grilled to perfection.  Everything was very healthy and delicious. It is amazing to see what he can do in a ship’s kitchen, but he is French, after all…

 

Sailing with Claude is a lesson in seamanship taught by someone who has crossed the ocean on Cenou and genuinely loves this life on the water. He shared his enthusiasm patiently and allowed us to participate as much or as little as we liked in handling the boat, plotting and managing our courses, and trimming the sails. Reaching across Vineyard Sound back to Newport was exhilarating! 

 

The boat is fast, comfortable, and fun. The sleeping berths are cozy and just fine, though it can get warm below deck on calm summer nights. This boat is made for sailing and extended cruising, not plush luxury like some mega-yacht, but it has everything one needs for a great trip and is very comfortable. It took a few hours for us to settle in, but then it became familiar and easy once we figured out how it all worked. Pack half of what you think you will need, maybe less, because you will not need it. 

 

Given the weather we did not get much opportunity to hang out on the beaches at the various destinations, but our shore excursions and time on the boat at anchorage were very pleasant. A good book or a deck of cards is a good idea for the evenings or foul weather time, as with any beach vacation.

 

In short, ours was a laid back, easy-going, relaxing time of great sailing, excellent food and beautiful scenery with a genuinely pleasant master sailor. It was a great experience for us. Thanks, Claude. 

 

Michael M. 

Charlottesville, VA

This was an amazing sailing trip. I like Claude's easy going manner and his sailing instructions. I really enjoyed the time we spent on the net, especially when we were sailing quickly. The nature preserve Claude chose was not only nice and quiet with a beautiful view of the sunset behind a decommissioned light house but at night you could see so many stars and there was so much bird wildlife... two bald eagles and lots of water birds. I really liked the interior of the boat where there was a lot of living area and the option to sleep out on the dining seats. It was very open and 6 was the perfect number. The sleeping areas were just too small for my liking (I didn't think I was claustrophobic, but now I know!) but it looked nice for folks who are comfortable with small areas. Thank you Claude for a wonderful experience and opening your catamaran to the Outdoor Adventure Social Club. Until next time!  

 

Carey / Huffman’s group (Sept/Oct 2012)

 

Sail the Blue answer: Carey participated in two cruises back to back organized by the Outdoor Adventure Social Club. It was wonderful to have her as well the other members. What an enthusiastic group, even when the weather turned to cold rain. But Carey is right. When six people sleep aboard, the berths feel small. That is why we prefer to charter to two couples or a family. Then, the boat is an ideal size for extended cruising.

bottom of page